Orbell Communications

Communicating Your Message

Turn Web Traffic Into Foot Traffic

Posted by jorbell on September 29, 2009

By Justin Kitch

A solid web presence is essential–even for the smallest brick-and-mortar businesses.

“Call, click or visit” has been a common call to action in small-business advertising for most of the past decade. The underlying assumption, of course, is that a small business has a telephone number, a place of business open to the public and a website. While a phone is probably a given, a brick-and-mortar store may or may not exist. And odds are that a small business does not have a website.

For years I’ve quoted an old survey that said 60 percent of small business don’t have a website. But lately I began wondering if that number was still accurate. I was shocked to see that it has held steady through the first decade of this century. An April 2009 survey by The Discover Small Business Watch found that only 38 percent of small businesses with five or fewer employees even have a website. A full 62 percent remain “non adopters.” And that number has decreased only three percent since 2007, when 65 percent of small businesses were not on the web.

It continues to baffle me why any small business wouldn’t use the internet as an essential sales, marketing and customer relations tool. Establishing and maintaining a web presence is incredibly cheap and easy these days. And web advertising is much more powerful than most traditional print or broadcast advertising in that it enables the business owner to engage customers in a two-way conversation and gain valuable feedback on their products and services.

Read full story

Article source: www.entrepreneur.com

7 Responses to “Turn Web Traffic Into Foot Traffic”

  1. […] Read more here:  Turn Web Traffic Into Foot Traffic […]

  2. […] more here: Turn Web Traffic Into Foot Traffic Share and […]

  3. Tnelson said

    Your site was extremely interesting, especially since I was searching for thoughts on this subject last Thursday.

  4. JimmyBean said

    I don’t know If I said it already but …Cool site, love the info. I do a lot of research online on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks, 🙂

    A definite great read..Jim Bean

  5. jorbell said

    Thanks for the kind comments.

    This blog contains a lot of material from a variety of sources. I give credit to authors and websites in every instance and provide links back to the original material. It is very important that the people do get that acknowledgement.

    My role in this is to provide a one-stop information source which interests and informs the readers so to get this feedback is important to me too.

    Feel free to contact me at any time if there any questions you have and I will do all I can to assist you.

    Regards,

    Jeremy Orbell

  6. Polprav said

    Hello from Russia!
    Can I quote a post in your blog with the link to you?

  7. jorbell said

    Hi Polprav,

    This particular post was not originally written by me. Any post that features a different website and/or author name in the head and footer of the the blog post comes from another source. In almost every case the external posts on this site have been shortened so that I am not reproducing the complete article content in full.

    I cannot speak for everyone but I feel that if you were to acknowledge the original writer souce with a link to that site you should be OK to reproduce small sections of an article.

    If a blog post doesn’t include an author or website source that is written by me and you are free to quote it providing a link back to this site and a name credit is given.

    I hope this helps.

    Regards,

    Jeremy Orbell

Leave a Reply

 
