Orbell Communications

Communicating Your Message

“You are a boring man” – example of questionable customer service

Posted by jorbell on March 23, 2010

I was in the main Peterborough Post Office yesterday and I was told that I was “a boring man” for not wanting a credit card or travel insurance. I can take a joke but I’d rather not be called “boring” by counter staff for not purchasing services I neither want nor need. It doesn’t bother me that much as it was supposed to be a joke but it’s a good example of how not to deal with customers – it lacks professionalism.

I decided to Twitter about it to see how long it takes for them to say anything to pacify someone badmouthing their organisation. After four similar tweets to @PostOfficeUK with no resposne I sent one to @RoyalMail who at least got back to me.

@RoyalMail Hi…sorry to hear about your experience, and trust that my colleagues @PostOfficeUK will be interested to hear about this.

I’ve heard nothing since.

Oh, and while I’m talking about customer service I shall also say something about the ticket office at Peterborough bus station too. Just as I turned up at 12:30pm they closed for lunch. There were two staff on so why couldn’t they stagger their lunches (12-1 and 1-2) so people could buy tickets during their lunch hour? By closing during at this time, my one free period during the day, it meant I had to come out again during office hours.

They are supposed to be offering a service but in this instance it’s only at times convenient for them. I would presume this is because they can’t guarantee that all staff will be available because of sickness and holidays so this way they know they can provide their ‘standard’ service should they be short of staff. While I can understand this it still means they are not putting the customer first.

I’ll post further developments here…

Leave a Reply

 
