Orbell Communications

Communicating Your Message

Busy, Busy, Busy!

Posted by jorbell on June 15, 2010

Busy Busy Busy bookIt’s hard to believe but it’s been a couple of months since I’ve updated this blog but as John Lennon once famously said: “Life is what happens to you when you are busy making other plans”. It’s a statement that’s never been more true than it has been this past week as my wife Jo conspired to break an arm a few days before she was about to start a new job. However, that’s a blog for another day.

I’ve had a very long to do list recently which despite making things rather more hectic than I would like has actually made my day-to-day schedule rather exhilarating. In addition to my work in the office I’ve been in events in London (Internet World) and Newcastle (Thinking Digital) which were both very interesting in different ways. I will post a review of Thinking Digital later this week as this in particular is well worth attending if you can.

I’ve been working on copy for a 12 page corporate brochure, the content, design and layout for a five page staff newsletter and also the production of the company’s 16 page membership magazine. There have been banners to produce for an event in Brussels as well as for International Telecoms Week in Washington DC. The latter of these required the sourcing of a US supplier and arranging delivery to the conference organisers in Maryland.

There’s been company stationery and business cards to design and order, preparation for another of our quarterly member meetings and all that goes with that including badging, delegate packs and promotion on social networks plus a press release to announce the presentation of an award to an organisation in the Czech Republic for its work on some open source software.

Our new website finally went live with lots of new features which was great to see. My original design concepts are largely intact and now comes the part where we work through enhancing the content for the members. Fun times ahead!

In the middle of all this was my participation in the Eye 10K which didn’t go wholly to plan as it took me well over an hour to complete the course. My goals for events like this have changed in recent years as the target is now to have fun rather than smashing personal bests. I’m now in a pattern of taking part in at least one event a year whether it’s another 10K, a 5K or the London Duathlon which I did back in 2007.

It’s very important to have something to look forward to whatever it is as it keeps us motivated and looking for that next opportunity. There’s always something positive we can be doing.

2 Responses to “Busy, Busy, Busy!”

  1. Herb Kim said

    Hi Jeremy,

    Very much look forward to your thoughts re Thinking Digital. Drop me a line or tweet (@ThinkingDigital) when you’ve posted it and we’ll add it to the growing collection of post-conference thoughts/reviews we’ve been collecting here..

    http://bit.ly/bYPpL3

    Thanks again for joining us last month.

    Herb

  2. jorbell said

    Thanks for that Herb.

    Thinking Digital was a great event and I wish I could’ve stayed longer but I was victim of not fully understanding how the agenda operated until I actually arrived. By which time I’d booked trains, accommodation and had other items in my diary.

    A lesson learned.

    Jeremy

Leave a Reply

 
