Orbell Communications

Communicating Your Message

The Secret Millionaire: could we all do more?

Posted by jorbell on October 24, 2010

In the UK there is a TV series called the Secret Millionaire where a wealthy person goes undercover into underprivileged areas and then after a period of time comes clean and hands over money for what he considers a deserving cause, person or project. It seems that £30K is the usual amount that is given overall and it could be split several ways for repairs to a local facility, or help with a care centre or for a person or family who are doing good in the community or becuase they deserve a break. It’s quite emotional stuff on many levels.

First of all you have the successful person. Being one of those ‘in the middle’ of society that have a decent job and are doing OK, how should I react to him or her? Some will be jealous of their success saying it is down to luck or a prosperous family whether they’ve earnt it or not. Others will applaud them because they had the drive and commitment to be a success especially if they started with nothing. Then there will be cynical people who think they are doing good to boost their ego or to make some personal gain and not doing it for the right reasons.

We also have those people who need care, or are out of work, living in poor conditions or being brought up in violent areas. People who feel trapped in their circumstances and can’t see a way out. Despite any range of problems including one or all of the above there are the persons who still seem to love life and will do anything for anyone for nothing or a pittance because it is the right thing to do.

This show gets to me because I mostly sit in that middle band or middle lane. I may complain at the petty or the trivial purely because it annoys me and I think the World is out to get me. I may get fed up that I can’t afford the latest gadget right away. I may get lazy or pig out on bad stuff or spend unnecessarily and then whinge at the bank if they don’t extend my overdraft.

How we drive in the middle lane can change. If we want it, I mean REALLY want it we can move to the fast lane and be a success. The same is true of pulling over to the slow lane and making a difference to those that need it, again not because it makes you feel good but because it is the right thing to do.

The middle lane is the place to worry about things that don’t matter. If you stay there and drive straight you essentially don’t move – you ould even argue you are being mediocre. If you step up you can maybe fund a community project or step down to be hands on and get your hands dirty and help those that need it.

On the roads people who cruise in the middle lane tend to be unpopular as they are blocking the highway. Which way are you headed? What will you do tomorrow to bring a ray of sunshine into another person’s life? Make a promise now to do something and tell us what you’ve done.

Make a difference…

5 Responses to “The Secret Millionaire: could we all do more?”

  1. Website design is an art, I love it. When reading posts like these, it makes me go back many years ago and think about when I started. It is amazing how much new concepts over the years. Great site, awesome.

  2. I love a really great post, wonder how the writer came up with this really amazing article.

  3. Wonderful blog! I truly love how it? s easy on my eyes as well as the data are well written. I am wondering how I can be notified whenever a new post has been made. I have subscribed to your rss feed which need to do the trick! Have a nice day!

  4. Great write up, saved your site with hopes to see more!

  5. bet365 said

    hi I was fortunate to find your Topics in digg
    your post is wonderful
    I obtain much in your theme really thank your very much
    btw the theme of you blog is really splendid
    where can find it

Leave a Reply

 
